PDA

View Full Version : Banning Ip Addresses


phil2564
10-31-2005, 01:42 AM
I posted this in general support I think it should have been in here.

I seen many people are interested in banning Ip addresses from there site so I made a simple contribution package for download to do this. Basically all you need to do is download the zip folder called Ip-Ban.zip and upload two files to your templates folder and edit in the Ips you want to ban. If you would like to use this zip folder. Go to
http://www.add-my-link.com/search/
THEN CLICK on Category DOWNLOADS Then PhpLinkDirectory and Click the download link Ip-Ban

If you need help PM me here at phplinkdirectory or use my email in the readme file.

Phil
www.add-my-link.com/search/

thompson
07-11-2006, 08:38 PM
good tool. thanks.

how did i ban complete ip ranges ? for ex. 83.9.*

Tim_Myth
07-11-2006, 09:44 PM
83.9.*? You trying to ban {email address removed} too? :D

neurosis4u
07-11-2006, 10:14 PM
looooooool
anubis ... he drive me crazy with his ip-changing*gg

Tim_Myth
07-11-2006, 10:17 PM
Yeah, IP banning isn't likely to stop him. Chances are that he's using a script to send posts directly to the server hosting your directory. Turning on image verification should stop his crap.

proprod
07-11-2006, 10:25 PM
Content visible to registered users only.

Speaking of this, I've been using .htaccess to block IPs. It seems to work in most cases, but there is this one guy that keeps getting through, lol, but for the most part, it seems to work ok.

vegabond
07-11-2006, 10:35 PM
Today i banned one IP by Cpanel and phpLD. also i added image verification. Now that spammer stopped :D

neurosis4u
07-11-2006, 10:38 PM
Content visible to registered users only.

image verification doesn`t stop him*gg

thats why i banned the complete ip-range

Tim_Myth
07-11-2006, 10:44 PM
Content visible to registered users only.
Thanks for the heads up. How did you ban the whole range? With this script or in your .htaccess?

neurosis4u
07-11-2006, 11:36 PM
i banned it with the script... and it works well... i saw in the log of this script, that he tried .. but he could not access...

Here in Forum there is a post about banning a ip-range with htaccess, but i dont find it, sorry...

Tim_Myth
07-12-2006, 02:09 PM
To ban from the .htaccess file modify the following to your suiting (but ignore the red comment bits). DO NOT COPY AND PASTE THIS VERBATIM INTO YOUR HTACCESS FILE or you'll be sorry... :p
Content visible to registered users only.
Further, if like me your directory is a subfolder of your main site AND your host allows it, you can place this modified htaccess file in your directory folder, and it will only affect the directory folder and all subfolders. For example, I placed this fileContent visible to registered users only.
in www.after5webdesign.com/directory/ so he is banned from submitting anything to the directory folder and all subfolders, but he can submit stuff to my forum, blog, software page, etc. because they reside in different folders. By using the Limit command, you won't be punishing a few thousand innocent Poles who just happen to have the same ISP as him.

PortProphecy
07-15-2006, 05:30 PM
This {email address removed} moron is really starting to piss me off. Domain banning and IP banning aren't working so hot against. I finally tried to email this mothersticker to threaten him and tell him to stop. Email desn't work. A quick whois on one of his sites gave me this information though:

Sponsoring Registrar:Go Daddy Software, Inc. (R91-LRMS)
Registrant ID:GODA-017287726
Registrant Name:Jaroslaw Krawczyk
Registrant Street1:Kwiatowa 31
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Wojtowo
Registrant State/Province:WM
Registrant Postal Code:11-010
Registrant Country:PL
Registrant Phone:+48.48607283203
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email: {email address removed}

I emailed him at this address. Hopefully this will get soemthing done.

Tim_Myth
07-16-2006, 05:36 AM
I can confirm that all his IPs are from Poland, but I doubt emailing him will do any good. Since instituting my code from my previous post, I have not gotten a single submission from him. Have you tried using the same code I'm using?

<Limit GET POST PUT>
order deny,allow
deny from 83.9
allow from all
</Limit>

alang
07-16-2006, 07:00 AM
thank you tim, this guy really drive me crazy. At least 10 submissions from him only per day.

Hope he not reading this thread though

praveen
07-18-2006, 02:30 PM
Content visible to registered users only.
he still submits after adding this to my htaccess :confused:

i just read, that one needs to add a dot after 9

so it looks like 83.9.

and it bans the entire range

PortProphecy
07-18-2006, 03:08 PM
OK. Image validation seems to be the way to stop him. A couple days ago, I activated the captcha on the three directories this goober was spamming, and he hasn't submitted since.