View Full Version : How to block a specific IP from visiting/submitting to my directory?
shadav
03-26-2007, 04:49 AM
I did a search and ran across this thread
http://www.phplinkdirectory.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5964
and have now done that for my directory....however I searched the site and the IP that's spamming both of my directories is not listed there....
How would I go about blocking a specific IP?
James
03-26-2007, 09:24 PM
just add it to the htaccess
James
03-26-2007, 09:25 PM
http://www.clockwatchers.com/htaccess_block.html
shadav
03-27-2007, 01:19 AM
thanks :)
should i post the ip for others to know as well?
I mean it's one thing to post to wrong categories, or try to get content that i've stated I wouldn't add, but an entirely different thing to submit a link with the title as a url, and the discription listing tons of urls in it.....blatant spam!
James
03-27-2007, 01:21 AM
well if they have half a clue that is a proxy ip and basically worthless in blocking/posting
shadav
03-27-2007, 01:25 AM
lol true, hadn't really thought about that....
shadav
03-31-2007, 03:31 PM
ug...it's the same ips spamming both of my sites...
anyways even though as Dawzz said it's prob a proxy....but i'm gonna list the ips anyway so that the rest of you can judge if you want to block them or not....
i mean if it is a proxy lol then those who really want to add their sites to your directory could just as easily use another proxy service lol
Directory Spammer Ips
88.212.223.249
200.166.83.12
68.87.66.101
210.43.40.5
210.212.198.69
these are the type of spammers that list tons of urls in the description, not just blatent spammers trying to add indecent content lol...these are obviously spam bots
James
03-31-2007, 04:53 PM
hmm if David ok's it I think we should start a spammers thread but limit it to users that have x posts
vBulletin® v3.8.0, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.